The National archaeological museum in Aquileia was established in 1882 in the home it still occupies, the Villa Cassis?Faraone, named after the aristocratic family that owned it. Behind the facade, the exhibits range over three floors and twelve rooms, continuing in the Lapidary galleries. Part of the warehouses is also open to the public, with new displays such as the section on the Via Annia (the main road from the Veneto), which opened to visitors in 2011. The museum underwent major internal building work in 1955, and the display areas are continually updated and refreshed to offer new ways to explore the ancient relics. Equally evocative are the gardens, which were redesigned for Emperor Franz Josef’s jubilees in 1898 and 1908, and the Lapidary galleries, on which work began in 1898 and continued until 1958.