The building that has housed Aquileia’s Early-Christian museum since 1961 is the last structural alteration made in fifteen centuries to this Christian place of worship built at the end of the 4th century outside the city walls. It has rather a special collection. Visitors can view the religious building and its mosaics along with displays of Christian burial inscriptions from various parts of Aquileia and later remains. All told, they paint a picture of the spiritual life in what, since the 6th century, has been the city of the Patriarchs. The museum is reached via a splendid stroll from past to present along the “Via Sacra”, built in 1934 with the earth from the dig at the port; in fact, it follows the course of the “Natisone and Torre”, Roman Aquileia’s river.